The James Hardiman Library

Archives

National University of Ireland Galway
  • Literary Collections

    Literary collections are a particular joy and wonder. To hold and read a page of original handwriting or a scribbled-over typescript can be a thrilling act of discovery: the physical nature of the page seems to bring us close to authors and moments of the past in ways that makes history both strange and familiar.

    More...

  • Theatre, film and performing arts collections

    at the James Hardiman Library are an extraordinarily rich resource for those concerned with researching any of the multifarious dimensions of Ireland’s performance and cultural history. Concentrated in the twentieth century, these collections encompass companies such as Druid Theatre, Lyric Players Theatre (Belfast), Taibhdhearc na Gaillimhe, the Galway Arts Festival and the Galway-based street theatre group, Macnas.

    More...

  • Historical and political collections

    together constitute a key junction for the academic study of various aspects of power in society: the settings and structures within which power is exercised, challenged and changed. For serious research in these areas, rich archival resources are a prerequisite.

    More...

Message from the President of NUI Galway Leagan Gaeilge
From its earliest beginnings in 1845, NUI Galway has regarded its library as being at the very heart of academic and student life. In its original location in the Quadrangle building and since the 1970s in its newer home on the Arts / Science Concourse the Library has been a base for generations of scholars. Students, faculty and visiting academics have engaged with our Library’s archives, producing research that underpins the academic reputation of NUI Galway.
As a University we seek to support further such research and scholarship. We have enjoyed considerable success in recent years, attracting doctoral students and academics from all over the world to conduct research in the arts and humanities, particularly in history, literature, Irish studies, Gaeilge, film and digital media, cultural studies and sociology and political science. Our archives are a significant attraction to such international scholars, enhancing Galway’s reputation as a world-leading centre of humanities research and study.
We continue to be ambitious in this area. With our new Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Research Building and supported by expert staff, our scholars will work in an inspirational environment with state-of-the-art facilities, reading and seminar rooms, collaborative spaces, and exhibition areas. We are proud to hold these archives in trust for scholars of the future and to share these rich collections with researchers far beyond our walls.

James J. Browne

Uachtarán - President

NUl Galway

Ó bunaíodh OÉ Gaillimh i 1845, tá an Leabharlann i gcroílár an tsaoil acadúil san ollscoil. Bhí an Leabharlann lonnaithe ar dtús báire sa Chearnóg. Ó na 1970idí tá an Leabharlann suite san áit a bhfuil sí le feiceáil anois ar Shlí Dála na nDán / na hEolaíochta agus is iomaí glúin scoláirí a chaith sealanna ag staidéar inti. Tá leas bainte ag mic léinn, ag an bhfoireann agus ag lucht acadúil ar cuairt as cartlanna na Leabharlainne, agus tá taighde curtha i dtoll a chéile acu a thacaíonn le cáil acadúil OÉ Gaillimh.
Mar Ollscoil ba mhaith linn tacaíocht bhreise a thabhairt don taighde agus don léann seo. Tá ag éirí go maith linn le cúpla bliain anuas mic léinn dochtúireachta agus lucht acadúil a mhealladh as gach cearn den domhan chun tabhairt faoi thaighde sna dána agus sna daonnachtaí, go háirithe sa stair, litríocht, Léann Éireannach, Gaeilge, scannánaíocht agus na meáin dhigiteacha, staidéar cultúrtha agus socheolaíocht agus eolaíocht pholaitiúil. Bíonn scoláirí den chineál seo meallta go mór mór ag ár gcartlanna, rud a chuireann le cáil na Gaillimhe mar ionad den scoth don taighde agus don staidéar sna daonnachtaí.
Beimid fós uaillmhianach sa réimse seo. San Fhoirgneamh nua Taighde sna Dána, sna Daonnachtaí & sna hEolaíochtaí Sóisialta agus le cabhair ó fhoireann a bhfuil saineolas aici beidh scoláirí in ann oibriú i dtimpeallacht spreagúil le háiseanna den chéad scoth, seomraí léitheoireachta agus seimineáir, spásanna comhoibrithe agus limistéir taispeántais. Táimid bródúil gur anseo atá na cartlanna seo do na glúine scoláirí atá le teacht amach anseo agus go bhfuilimid in ann na bailiúcháin iontacha seo a roinnt le taighdeoirí i bhfad i gcéin.

James J. Browne

Uachtarán

OÉ Gaillimh

This Guide was supported by Galway University Foundation