The James Hardiman Library

Archives - Theatre, Film and Performing Arts Collections

National University of Ireland Galway
Lyric Theatre/ O’Malley Collection
Taibhdhearc na Gaillimhe Collection
Druid Theatre Collection
Huston Family Collection
Shields Family Collection
Joe Burke Collection
Siobhán McKenna Collection

The theatre, film and performing arts at the James Hardiman Library are an extraordinarily rich resource for those concerned with researching any of the multifarious dimensions of Ireland’s performance and cultural history. Concentrated in the twentieth century, these collections encompass companies such as Druid Theatre, Lyric Players Theatre (Belfast), Taibhdhearc na Gaillimhe, the Galway Arts Festival and the Galway-based street theatre group, Macnas. Also included is material related to theatre, music and film practitioners such as Joe Burke, Hilton Edwards, John Huston, Micheál Mac Liammóir, Lady Gregory, Thomas Kilroy, Siobhán McKenna and Arthur Shields.
There are minute books, voluminous correspondence, scripts annotated with stage and lighting directions, film ‘out-takes’, unpublished plays, photographs,musical and video recordings, newspaper clippings, theatre programmes, posters, flyers and financial records. Scripts and letters to be found in these collections include those authored by some of the most important European literary figures: Samuel Beckett, Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, Thomas Kinsella and Jean-Paul Sartre. The wealth of materials in the theatre, film and performing arts collections at NUI Galway opens up the possibility of exciting further study to scholars national and international.